Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Once upon a time, on a blog from long ago…I posted about Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips. The recipe was so gosh darn good that it is making another appearance here on Sheepsake today! I made this delicious snack a couple of weekends ago for a family gathering and fell in love with it all over again. So here it is…originally posted in December of 2011, my re-blog of Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips!

This past weekend, I had the honor of helping organize a baby shower for my lovely friend, Shez, who is expecting her little princess in a few months. She specially requested finger foods so I wanted to make a dish that was easy to eat AND nutritious for my preggo buddy…and I came across this wonderful recipe for Annie’s Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips on Allrecipes.com. This dish was a MAJOR hit at the party and I got rave reviews from just about everyone who tried it. I do believe this dish (which I’ve modified to my liking) will become part of the regular “Go-To” dishes for future parties! Since so many people asked me how I make it, I decided to write out the instructions here on my blog. Before you thank me…you might want to give a special thanks to Moby. After the baby shower, I brought back home a secret stash of the salsa and chips I had set aside for my hubby. He was SUPER excited about getting to eat some and got all set up to watch his TV show and enjoy his special snack comfortably on the couch. To make a long story short, Moby’s foot (paw) ended up in the salsa bowl and we had to throw it out before hubby could even eat ANY of it. I could tell hubby’s bubble had been burst in a BIG way. I felt so bad that I just had to make some more…and it’s from this second round of me making this recipe, that this post and the pics resulted! Let’s DO this! First I pre-heat the oven to 350 and then gather all of my ingredients: Fruit, Tortillas, Cinnamon Sugar (1 Cup of Sugar with 1-1/4 teaspoon of Cinnamon), Preserves and Cooking Sprays! Simple enough! EFFICIENCY – It’s a good idea to prep the tortilla chips and get those in the oven so you can be cutting up the fruit while the chips are baking. All you have to do is spray the tortillas (front and back) with butter flavored cooking spray, cut them into triangles. dredge them in the cinnamon-sugar mix and lay them on your foil-lined baking sheet. (For all of you smarty-pants who noticed…I didn’t have butter flavored cooking spray so I had to improvise with butter spray and cooking spray.) To get the tortilla triangles, I take a few 10″ flour tortillas at a time, cut them in half, stack the halves and then cut those into thirds. Here’s my first batch of chips ready to go into the hot oven. While those are baking, it’s time to chop up the fruit! Kiwis are already done…On to the strawberries and peaches. Important TIP: Dice all of your fruits SMALL! This way, when you pick up the fruit with your chip, you get a nice blend of all the fruits instead of huge chunks of any one particular fruit.

Although fresh peaches can be used, frozen peaches add a bit of convenience to the fruit prep process.

9 minutes later, we have…

warm crispy cinnamon sugar tortilla chips!

Apples and peach preserves are ready to be tossed with the rest of my fruit! Another Important TIP: When chopping up your fruit, save your apple for last! This way, at the very end, you can toss your diced apple in and get the pieces coated with all of the other fruits/preserves. This helps prevent the apples from browning too much.

Let the salsa chill in the fridge for about 20 minutes. After the 20 minutes are up, grab those chips and have a fruity fiesta!

The tip of the chip is my favorite! Yummm…load that bad boy up!

Oops. I wanted to take one more pic from a different angle of that loaded chip…but somehow it ended up in my mouth before I could get the shot.

(Can you see the flaky layers in the chip? Seriously…you need to try this.)

Now that’s a great guilt-free treat! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Here’s the detailed recipe for how I made it:

JAINY’S FRUIT SALSA & CINNAMON CHIPS

(Serves 5)

Fruit Salsa:

  • 1 Fuji Apple (Fuji’s seem to have less issues with browning fast. But you can use whatever apples you have on hand really.)
  • 1 Kiwi
  • 1/2 lb Strawberries
  • 1 heaping handful of Frozen Peaches (lol…gotta love my exact measurements, huh?)
  • 1-1/2 tablespoon peach preserves (or whatever preserves you fancy)

Dice up all of the fruit, saving the apple for last.

Toss it all together with the preserves and chill for 20 minutes. DONE!

(If serving this in individual bowls, dress it with a dollop of Cool Whip. Trust me on this!)

Cinnamon Sugar Tortilla Chips:

  • 10 – 10″ flour tortillas
  • 1/2 C Sugar
  • 1-1/4 t Cinnamon
  • Butter-flavored Cooking Spray

Preheat the oven to 350.

Mix the cinnamon and sugar in a flat dish and set aside.

Spray 2 tortillas, front and back, with the cooking spray. Cut into 6 triangles per tortilla.

Dredge each triangle in the cinnamon-sugar mix and lay out on a foil-lined baking sheet.

Bake for 9 minutes and then remove promptly from the oven, and allow to cool.

*Repeat these steps until you have finished making the desired quantity of chips.

ENJOY!

6 comments on “Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

  1. joan says:

    I”m soooooo glad you reposted this! I had this once and forgot about it’s delicious glory!!!

  2. Omega says:

    Yum! That looks so good. I’m so glad you posted this, I’ll have to give it a try.

  3. shezareu says:

    Mmm mmm mmmmm! I still dream of this delicious treat. Now that I’ve been reminded of the recipe, I’ll just have to make some.

    • sheepsake says:

      And this time, Alayna could eat it too! You know, also, it’s only “right” if you have me over when you make it so I can provide my personal assurance that you did it correctly. (wink wink)
      (This comment also applies to Joan. I always like to be of “help”! haha)

I'd love to hear from you so please leave a comment/question!

