Spring Storm Tea Time

I finally started back up on my Freckled Nest Home Ec. online course again and the lesson I worked on was for cloth napkins. I finished them last night and I’m so glad I made them. I scrapped the fabric from one of my mom’s old mu-mu style cotton night gowns so the result is a soft and FREE set of napkins that I won’t be upset about if they get stained. After all, what good is a napkin if I won’t allow them to get messy?

Napkin Set

As many things as I’ve sewn on my lovely sewing machine, Bessy…I’ve never ventured beyond the straight stitch! WOW…where has my sense of adventure and risk gone!? So this lesson helped me get over my fear of leaving the safe and straight mode of stitching.

Napkin-ZigZag Stitch

I’m pretty pleased with how they turned out. I used bright red thread to add a little pop of color to the brown/white pattern.

Cloth napkins are a great way to cut back on our use of paper napkins/paper towels during meals so I’m not opposed to making more of these to use on a regular basis. Good for the environment and good for the wallet!

I was pretty excited to use my napkins today. This afternoon, the weather is warm and stormy so it’s the perfect time for tea and cookies. (But really, when is it NOT the perfect time for tea and cookies?)

Napkin-Tea Time

Anybody free to join me for tea time?

3 comments on “Spring Storm Tea Time

  1. D-Stewie says:

    Nice! Way-to-go putting old fabric to new uses! Dont get too carried away though…if my Bo Jackson throwback jersey “mysteriously” goes missing and I find some new silver & black Jersey fabric handkerchiefs in the dining room, you’ll have some ‘splaining to do!

    Love,

    Hubby 🙂

    • shezareu says:

      Hahaha love Dwayne’s comment! Nicely done Jainster! It was a great idea to use red thread for a pop of color… and to consume tea and cookies with your fancy new napkins. 😉 Yum!!!

  2. susan says:

    lol, dwayne’s comment. and aren’t the cloth napkins so fun!!! I also need to get back on track with my home ec class projects. I’ve only completed 4 or 5 of them — i’ve just been putting everything off because I have no time these days. ughhh, I have such a long backlog of things that need to get done!

I'd love to hear from you so please leave a comment/question!

