Beauty is in the Eye of the Artist’s Mama

I’ve always felt that art cannot be judged as being good or not good because art is an expression of one’s own freedom, flavor, emotion, etc. So there’s no one-right-way to do things, in my book. I feel like children’s art in particular is special because little minds, unfettered by the adult knowledge of reality or expectations, can create the most beautiful pieces.

photo (4)

Being a toddler artist is hard work! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now that being said, I have become that mama that beams with pride at all of the wild scribblings and finger paintings of my baby and thinks they’re the most beautiful works of toddler art I’ve ever seen. Yep, that’s me with the big treasure chest full of colorful scribbles that I plan on keeping forever and ever and ever!

After about 20 scribble-art papers, I came to realize, I couldn’t remember the fun details of the day when he had made each particular scribble. So when I got J to paint with a paint brush for the first time, I decided to save the work in a more special way that would not just disappear into the ever-growing stack of scribble masterpieces.

J's first paintbrush scribble

J’s first paintbrush scribble

Dwayne says it already looks like some sort of pre-historic pterodactyl skeleton. Can you see what he’s talking about? (A little creepy!) Well, I decided to cut out the shape of a cute little bird. If you look closely, you can see where I traced out the shape and cut it out already.

I was really lucky because I was able to position the shape at a place where the paint scribble allowed for a perfect color-change for the beak.

Scribbles allowed for a distinguishable beak

J’s scribbles allowed for a distinguishable beak

All I had to add was an eye and the shape of a wing!ย I pasted this cute little bird onto some scrapbook paper I had lying around and added some paper grass and pipe-cleaner legs.ย I used a decorative edge scissor to cut a scalloped border across the top.

Jay's Birdie

Jay’s little paint scribble bird proudly displayed on the fridge.

We’re in the process of hanging a clothes line in J’s room to start displaying his especially nice works of art (which, to his mama…is like ALL of them.) Until then, my fridge space will just continue to get buried with J’s creations.

Jay's Birdie

Now as for my own crafts, I’ve got a few WIPs (Works In Progress) and hopefully I’ll get to complete them soon so I can show you what I’ve been up to!

3 comments on “Beauty is in the Eye of the Artist’s Mama

  1. shezareu says:

    That is so creative!!!! What a wonderful way to preserve his first paintbrush masterpiece! Btw, Jaydu looks way too cute in that pic… I could just eat him up, paint and all!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Did it take forever to clean him up?? What kind of paints did you use?

    • sheepsake says:

      Thanks!! haha I bet he’d LOVE if you did come and try to eat him up! Clean up is easy because he was just using water-based Crayola finger paints in the picture. A wet paper-towel did the trick! The bird art was made with regular acrylics and I only let him use the paintbrush with that…no messy paint fingers with that one!

  2. Dwayne says:

    Huh?! Wait, what happened to the pterodactyl skeleton??? I was hoping to see some pre-historic bird bones on the fridge!

    Looks like he’s gonna follow in the footsteps of his mamma and uncle Gabe with those exceptional art skills ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd love to hear from you so please leave a comment/question!

